About Scienceline

Scienceline is a student-run online magazine published by the Science, Health and Environmental Reporting Program (SHERP) in the Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute at New York University. For more information, e-mail us. See below for our corrections and comments policies.

Scienceline’s writers and editors are unpaid but you can express support for them and their work by making a tax-deductible contribution to a university-administered SHERP scholarship fund, the proceeds of which are used solely to benefit future SHERP students via tuition-remission scholarships.

Scienceline Staff

Editor in Chief
Olivia Gieger

Managing Editor
Alexa Robles-Gil

Engagement Editor
Dawn Attride

Graphics Editor
Gayoung Lee

Multimedia Editor
Jenaye Johnson

Senior Editors
Carrie Klein

Sara Hashemi

Fact Checking
Nana Mohammed

Humberto Basilio 

Copy Editors
Kohava Mendelsohn

Avery Orrall

Past Contributors

SHERP 41: Timmy Broderick, Emily Driehaus, Anna Gibbs, Madison Goldberg, Gina Jimenez, Ellyn Lapointe, Calli McMurray, Kiley PriceGwendolyn Rak, Marlowe Starling, Alice Sun, Lori Youmshajekian

SHERP 40: Maiya Focht,  Kharishar Kahfi, Delaney Dryfoos, Lyric Aquino, Niranjana Rajalakshmi, Allison Parshall, Daniel Leonard, Hannah Loss, Debbie Balthazar, Emily Harris, Tatum McConnell

SHERP 39: Casey Crownhart, Huanjia Zhang, Ethan Freedman, Niko McCarty, Joanna Thompson, Abe MusselmanLauren Leffer, Jackie Appel, Delger Erdenesanaa, Elana Spivack, Anna Goshua, Karen Kwon

SHERP 38: Hannah Seo, Rahul Rao, Maria Paula Rubiano, Jonathan Moens, Curtis Segarra, Leto Sapunar, Corryn Wetzel, Anushree Dave, Rebecca Sohn, Taylor White, Lili Pike, M.K. Manoylov

SHERP 37: Passant Rabie, Polina Porotsky, Jess Romeo, Tara Santora, Isobel Whitcomb, Donavyn Coffey, Marcus Banks, Dana Najjar, Marion Renault, Dani Leviss, Nina Pullano

SHERP 36: Jessica Boddy, Lucy HicksJillian MockLexi KruppShoshana WodinskyEmiliano Rodriguez Mega,  Charlie WoodMatthew PhelanJen MonnierBrianna AbbottNell DurfeeChloe Williams

SHERP 35: Eleanor CumminsAshley LylesNicole Wetsman, Ellen AirhartCici Zhang, Abigail FaganMark Kaufman, Leslie Nemo, Dan Robitzski, Marissa Shieh, Harrison Tasoff

SHERP 34: Dyani SabinRyan F. MandelbaumSara ChodoshMeghan BartelsGreg UyenoKnvul SheikhMichael KoziolShira PolanEllie KincaidKelsey KennedyJeanette FerraraPeter HessSandy Ong

SHERP 33: Lydia ChainChelsey B. CoombsKatherine Ellen FoleyJennifer HackettShannon HallRebecca HarringtonJoAnna KleinNicole J. LouHanneke WeiteringSteph YinLauren J. Young

SHERP 32: Rebecca Cudmore, Kathryn Free, Chelsea Harvey, Joshua A. Krisch, Sarah Lewin, Jillian Rose LimClaire MaldarelliElizabeth NewbernHannah Newman, Amy NordrumAlexandra OssolaNeel V. PatelKrystnell A. StorrManasi Vaidya

SHERP 31: Kate Baggaley, Caitlin Q. Davis, Rachel Feltman, Joss Fong, Ben GuarinoAndrew P. HanWilliam HerkewitzKatie HilerRoni JacobsonSarah JacobyAlexa C. Kurzius, Lily Hay Newman, Arielle Duhaime-Ross, Naveena SadasivamNick Stockton

SHERP 30: Emma BryceJonathan ChangKathryn DoyleLaura GeggelJustine Hausheer, Miriam Kramer, Taylor Kubota, Virat Markandeya, Susan E. Matthews, Allison T. McCannBenjamin Plackett, Kelly Slivka, Ashley TaylorKate Yandell

SHERP 29: Joey Castro, Francie Diep, Rose EvelethSarah Fecht, Mary Beth Griggs, Lena GroegerMadeleine Johnson, Douglas Main, Rachel NuwerKatie Palmer, Sabrina RichardsMadhu VenkataramananStephanie WarrenAmber Williams

SHERP 28: Ariel BleicherMichael Glenn Easter, Emily Elert, Joanna Foster, Zach GottliebMara Grunbaum, Ferris Jabr, Alyson KenwardOlivia Koski, Alex Liu, Mike OrcuttKatie Peek, Valerie Ross, Anna Rothschild

SHERP 27: Allison Bond, Shelley Dubois, Crystal Gammon, Robert Goodier, Brett Israel, Frederik Joelving, Lindsey Konkel, Dave LevitanErik Ortlip, Lynne Peeples, Genevra Pittman, Rachael Rettner, Carina Storrs

SHERP 26: Molika AshfordStuart FoxAndrew GrantAdam T. HadhazyKarina HamalainenMonica Heger, Christopher Intagliata, Susannah F. Locke, Rachel Mahan, Eric R. Olson, Natalie Peretsman, Greg Soltis, Victoria Stern, Katherine Tweed

SHERP 25: Andrea Anderson, Lindsey Bewley, Rachele Cooper, Emily V. Driscoll, Jeremy Hsu, Meredith Knight, Ben Leach, Jennifer MoserMorgen E. Peck, Kristin Elise Phillips, Josh Romero, Peter Sergo, Molly Webster, Erica Westly

SHERP 24: Sabina Borza, Susan Cosier, Ciara Curtin, Kristina Fiore, Bob Grant, Andrew Klein, Julie Leibach, Melissa Mahony, Karen Schrock, Alison Snyder, Andrea Thompson, Melinda Wenner, Edyta Zielinska

Friends: Amanda DeMatto, Jessie Jiang, Christine Kelly, Cassie Rodenberg


Faculty Advisor
Ivan Oransky, MD
Distinguished Writer in Residence, New York University

Dan Fagin
Professor, New York University
Director, SHERP

Corrections Policy
Here at Scienceline, we do our best to be accurate at all times. But after all, we’re only human, so once in a while we do screw up. Please contact us if you think we’ve made a mistake. We will correct serious factual errors in the body of the offending article and append a note explaining the change. Typos, punctuation errors, and misspellings will be corrected without notice.

Comments Policy
Due to an increase in spam, Scienceline will be screening comments before they are posted. Approved comments should appear within 48 hours. Inappropriate or offensive posts will not be tolerated.

Blog Photo Credits
The Bestiary: Riccardo Cuppini, flickr.com; Elucidata: Katie Peek; Ever Wondered: Katie Peek; The Scienceline Podcast: visual.dichotomy, flickr.com; Scienceline Staff Picks: Lena Groeger; Sniff: Ritchie King; Sounds Like Science: Tessa Watson, flickr.com; Test Tube Kitchen; Mykl Roventine, flickr; The Doug Addict: Lena Groeger; The Rocks Know: Mary Beth Griggs; The Urban Scientist: Jason Arends, flickr.com




The Scienceline Newsletter

Sign up for regular updates.